African Player of the Year nominees announced

Published On 14/10/2015 | By Liam Chambers | Africa, Europe, International, Latest News, Premier League, Top Stories

The nominees for the Confederation of African Football’s African Player of the Year Award have been announced this week.

Manchester City midfielder and former Ivory Coast international Yaya Toure is a clear favourite for the award, and could surpass Cameroon legend Samuel Eto’o, with a fifth consecutive title.

The 32-year-old enjoyed a good year, despite missing out on the Premier League title to Chelsea, having guided Ivory Coast to their second Africa Cup of Nations title back in February.

Toure’s fellow international teammates Gervinho, Max Gradel and Serge Aurier also made the 37-man list, with the winner to be announced on 22 December.

Other notable inclusions are Swansea City’s Andre Ayew, who sees himself top of the Welsh club’s scoring charts, having signed on at the Liberty Stadium in the summer.

Borussia Dortmund’s Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang will be a strong contender for the title, having already broke Bundesliga records this season, thanks to his fine goalscoring form.

The much talked about Amyen Abdennour, of Valencia, also makes the list, alongside Southampton duo Victor Wanyama and Sadio Mane, who were being tipped with big moves away from the Saints this summer.

Here are the other candidates for the title:

  • Ahmed Musa – CSKA Moscow (Russia) and Nigeria
  • Baghdad Bounedjah – Etoile du Sahel (Tunisia) and Algeria
  • Bassem Morsi – Zamalek (Egypt) and Egypt
  • Chrisitian Atsu – Bournemouth (England) and Ghana
  • Dieumerci Mbokani – Norwich City (England) and DR Congo
  • El Arbi Soudani – Dynamo Zagreb (Croatia) and Algeria
  • Faouzi Ghoulam – Napoli (Italy) and Algeria
  • Ferebory Dore – Angers (France) and Congo
  • Ibrahima Traore – B Monchengladbach (Germany) and Guinea
  • Javier Balboa – Al Faisaly (Saudi Arabia) and Equatorial Guinea
  • Heldon Ramos – Rio Ave (Portugal) and Cape Verde
  • Mame Biram Diouf – Stoke City (England) and Senegal
  • Mehdi Benatia – Bayern Munich (Germany) and Morocco
  • Mudather El Tahir ‘Careca’ – Al Hilal (Sudan) and Sudan
  • Mohamed Salah – Roma (Italy) and Egypt
  • Nicolas Nkoulou – Marseille (France) and Cameroon
  • Robert Kidiaba – TP Mazembe (DR Congo) and DR Congo
  • Rudy Gestede – Aston Villa (England) and Benin
  • Riyad Mahrez – Leicester City (England) and Algeria
  • Seydou Keita – Roma (Italy) and Mali
  • Sofiane Feghouli – Valencia (Spain) and Algeria
  • Stephane Mbia – Trabzonspor (Turkey) and Cameroon
  • Thievy Bifouma – Granada (Spain) and Congo
  • Vincent Aboubakar – Porto (Portugal) and Cameroon
  • Vincent Enyeama – Lille (France) and Nigeria
  • Yacine Brahimi – Porto (Portugal) and Algeria
  • Yannick Bolasie – Crystal Palace (England) and DR Congo
  • Yasine Chikhaoui – Al Gharafa (Qatar) and Tunisia




Comments are closed.